My Best Of 2008…kind of.

Thinking of the new year it starts making you put into perspective the music you listened to and saw over the past year. Bloggers, music magazines, and music enthusiasts such as myself start narrowing down their top 10, top 50, and top 100 lists for albums, singles, and artists. For me, I’m disappointed to say I missed a lot of the great albums this year such as Fleet Foxes and Deerhunter. The names were always flowing around me, but I just never had time to pick them up and give them a dedicated listen. However, some 2008 releases I was really excited to hear are:

Maps & Atlases You and Me and the Mountain EP
The Ting Tings We Started Nothing
Anathallo Canopy Glow
The Black Keys Attack & Release
Vampire Weekend Vampire Weekend
The Seedy Seeds Count the Days
Margot & the Nuclear So and So’s Animal”/”Not Animal
Music From the Motion Picture Juno

I have to say that Vampire Weekend‘s “A-punk” gets my bid for best video (I still can’t believe how fast that band caught on):

But I wish I could have caught this performance from The Ting Tings:

Being in Bloomington, a lot of local and regional music happened this year that I was super excited about. I got to spend my first summer in Bloomington this year, and it was absolutely amazing. It was like the city was mine, I caught all the best shows, I lived downtown so I could walk everywhere, and I got to intern with Secretly Canadian Records and Spirit of ’68 Promotions. It’s probably hands down the best summer I’ve ever had. Anyway, here are some local releases I was pysched about:

Good Luck Into Lake Griffy
Totally Michael Self Titled
Away With Vega A Year at Home
Busman’s Holiday Old Friends EP
the Delicious Postcard To My Sewing Circle
Rodeo Ruby Love Rodeo Ruby Love Vs. the Great American Cities
Grampall Jookabox Ropechain
Prayer Breakfast Small American
and of course the untitled new CD from Either/Or

Favorite Concerts:

Kimya Dawson, Matty Pop Chart, and Erin Tobey. Absolutely wonderful! This show was perfect in every way. Kimya Dawson was great, even let me take a picture with her. And it was great to see Matt outside of the Good Luck setting, I really enjoyed his Matty Pop Chart set.

Other Bands I loved seeing live:

Maps & Atlases (saw them 3 times this year!!!!), FEIST, The Dodos, The Seedy Seeds, Margot & the Nuclear So and So’s (twice!), David Vandervelde, Busman’s Holiday, Rusty Zavitson, Arrah and the Ferns (last Bloomington show EVER), The Impossible Shapes, Company of Thieves, A.A. Bondy, Dave Davison (from Maps & Atlases), Nurses, the Delicious, Amo Joy!, Two Man Gentlemen Band, Metavari, Grampall Jookabox, Akron/Family and Reverend Peyton’s Big Damn Band.

Anyway, that’s all for today. I wish you all the best in 2009, and I can’t wait to see what bands are going to take me by surprise this year. Everyone in Btown is getting psyched up for the first big show of the year: Girl Talk. I can’t wait to see Ben Kweller and the Watson Twins in February. Hello, 2009!

Enjoy this performance by Margot & the Nuclear So and So’s, one of my favorite studio session performances of the year:

Something to add? Leave a Comment!

