New Music: Rachel Crow – “Mean Girls”

I caught wind of this track from one of my favorite blogs HelloGiggles, and it’s been on my mind ever since. I don’t know much about Rachel Crow, but apparently she’s a 14-year-old singing sensation from the first season of the U.S. version of The X Factor. I have to say I’ve never watched the show, but after hearing Crow’s first single “Mean Girls”, I really wish I would have caught her wowing the judges and audiences and coming in fifth place overall.

Not only does she have an amazing voice, but also an amazing story of overcoming many social and personal adversities. Crow let’s out those frustrations in a healthy way with “Mean Girls”, the first single from her debut EP, Rachel Crow, which was released yesterday from Columbia Records. I hope this song not only inspires those who have felt bullied or self-conscious to take pride in their individual traits and triumphs, but also helps those who may have put others down in the past to think about their actions. Kids can be cruel, and now more than ever (thanks to instantaneous communication technology), they are suffering hard for it. A song like “Mean Girls” reminds us not only to stand up for ourselves, but to also stand up for each other.

Something to add? Leave a Comment!

