New Crush: Pearl And The Beard

Photo Credit: teaandbrie.com

Up until 48 hours ago, Pearl And The Beard was not even on my radar, I was oblivious to the band when I learned that they would be opening for Ani DiFranco at the Buskirk-Chumley Theater on Sept. 26. I’m not a die hard Ani fan yet (not that I’m not an Ani fan, I just haven’t yet been introduced to enough of her music), so the name of the opening band passed by as an afterthought. But today I decided to do a little research, and I’m pretty sure this will be my new favorite band for a while.

Pearl And The Beard (Brooklyn, NY) is a trio of musicians and singers with enough charisma and vocal harmonies to fill your heart with an intense joy upon first listen. I started with a video of the band’s “Will Smith Medley“, something accessible and familiar, yet coming from a folk perspective. The threesome smiled, bopped, rapped, and attacked their instruments with such charm, I couldn’t help but smile along and go hunting for more. Focusing instrumentally on simplified guitar, cello, and assorted percussion arrangements, the vocals and songwriting really stand out. For me however, the most important instrument is their emotional delivery. There is nothing I love more than seeing and hearing musicians who clearly love to perform. Their joy, solemnity, curiosity are easily identified in live and even recorded performances.  This is evident in songs like”Voice In My Throat” and “Oh, Death” from 2009’s God Bless Your Weary Soul, Amanda Richardson, or “Sweetness” and “Douglas Douglass” from 2011’s Killing the Darlings.

Their spirit is strong and their talent is obvious. Easily blending old school styles and modern folk and pop, Pearl And The Beard is bringing something familiar yet refreshing to listeners.

The band is currently on tour with Ani DiFranco now, and I highly recommend you check them out. Bloomingtonians: Catch Peal And The Beard in town Wednesday, Sept. 26 opening for Ani DiFranco at the Buskirk-Chumley Theater. Tickets

More about Pearl And The Beard:
Website
Facebook
Twitter
Family Records
Spotify

Something to add? Leave a Comment!

