Feeling Bluesy

In the spirit of the new school year, I stopped by my favorite record shop, Landlocked Music for some new tunes. I came in thinking I was going to buy some Matt & Kim, but instead walked out with Big Damn Nation by Indiana’s own The Reverend Peyton’s Big Damn Band and Son House: The Original Delta Blues.

Both are great albums that I recommend everyone pick up. Ever since I took a blues history class last semester, I’ve been taking more opportunities to listen to and collect Delta and rural blues tunes. I really love Son House’s style and emotion. He’s what bring the blues home for me, and this album is full of crystal clear recordings of his work including my favorites “Death Letter” and “John the Revelator”. Check them out below:

And a little of that Big Damn Band

LaundroMatinee Video Session

Something to add? Leave a Comment!

