Live Video: Peter Gabriel’s “Flume” Cover

Back in February I wrote a post about Peter Gabriel’s cover of Bon Iver’s “Flume” for his 2010 covers album Scratch My Back.  I really enjoyed the cover and thought it was a lovely emotional depiction of the opening track to the breakout Bon Iver album For Emma, Forever Ago.  The way the song was re-worked to feature strings and brass gave it a new tone, in a great way, and Gabriel’s vocal dynamics throughout the verses and choruses were extremely moving.

However, I recently came across a video on YouTube of a live performance of the song, and I don’t know, it just didn’t really rub me the right way.  The song was still great, but something about the digital light show of lines and explosions just seemed a little too “epic” or “larger than life” for the performance of that particular song.  I could just be letting it get to me too much, but have a look for yourself and you be the judge.

While we’re on the subject, if you haven’t already, check out Bon Iver’s cover of Gabriel’s “Come Talk to Me” as a part of the Scratch My Back project. The “Come Talk to Me” cover was released as the B-side of the Peter Gabriel “Flume” vinyl single.

About the covers project:

Something to add? Leave a Comment!

