Preview: “City of Refuge” – Abigail Washburn

From the second I heard Abigail Washburn’s Song of the Traveling Daughter (2005) I was inspired by her voice, her banjo-influenced music, and her old-fashioned style. I also fell for her story (seriously, please watch that), she just seemed like the real deal; I felt like I could hear her heart in her music. I was terribly disappointed to have missed her performance at Bloomington’s Lotus Festival last fall, but I knew it wouldn’t be the last I heard of her.  Now, Washburn is finally back with a second solo release, City of Refuge.

City of Refuge is Washburn’s debut on Rounder Records and is quite a leap from the roots-y, back-home style of Song of the Traveling Daughter. There’s still plenty of banjo and echoes of Asian-influenced themes, and her soft, sultry country-esque voice is as pleasant to the ears as ever.  She sounds kind of like a rural version of Norah Jones, in my opinion.  Some of the tracks are dripping with traditional American-folk lore, some are a tad more modern, while others have a more solemn, introspective tone. However, no matter how varied the musical styles, each song leaves you standing still to take in Washburn’s talents as a skillful vocalist and songwriter. It seems she took a great step in collaborating with musician Kai Welch; they make a great songwriting and performance pair.

Check out the title track and two others from the album:

I’ve only had the pleasure of listening to short clips of the entire album here, but I can’t wait to buy my copy.  This marks the first non-local album that I am excited about in 2011.
For more info about the album,  check out this interview she did with Paste: Catching Up with Abigail Washburn

Also:

Abigail Washburn – City of Refuge
Abigail Washburn Website
MySpace

One response to “Preview: “City of Refuge” – Abigail Washburn

  1. During my Freshman year at Colorado College I joined a summer program trip to China Washburn recalled. I discovered a Chinese culture that was so deep and ancient it changed my perspective on America. On her return to the States Washburn began to explore American culture a journey that led her back to her native country s traditional roots.

    Like

Something to add? Leave a Comment!

