Flashback Track: Lenny Williams “Cause I Love You”

Oh man.  I remember the first time I heard the song.  I’m pretty sure I was around 6 or 7 and it was on a classic soul radio station in my mom’s minivan.  We all thought it was hilarious how much this man just begs like a lovesick puppy and hollers throughout the song.  I just remember thinking, “Man, any woman better take her man back if he shows up singing like this.” So gentlemen, take notes.  If you really love your girl and you need to make things right, don’t be too proud to beg.  (Plus, Lenny Williams is a legendary musician, check him out.)

*Note this song was sampled in Twista’s “Overnight Celebrity” and Jin’s “I Got A Love”, both produced by Kanye West.

Something to add? Leave a Comment!

