SOPA/PIPA – We Don’t Need This

A rare dip into politics on this blog. (I’m not trying to tell you what to do, I’m just asking you to at least educate yourself on this issue)

Please take some time out of your day to learn about the proposed Stop Online Piracy Act (SOPA) and PROTECT IP Act (PIPA). If you use the internet to learn and share information, thoughts, media, etc. with others, this act directly affects you and the websites that you use to do so.

Do I support piracy? No. This is exactly why the music or video content you see on my blog is linked to or embedded from its original source and credited where possible. However, I also don’t believe that everyone should be punished for the mistakes of others. Our free and open internet has bridged cultural, societal, and physical gaps, allowed open and creative collaboration, and facilitated the sharing of information in ways that have re-defined our world. To cut that away with censorship would not only ruin the intended purpose of the internet, but also steals away the freedoms which this country has boasted upon for centuries. How’s THAT for piracy?

Read what these sources have to say:

Fight For the Future
WordPress.com (Offering censored blog posts, Jan. 18 in protest)
Google (Front Image is BLACKED OUT, Jan. 18 in protest)
Wikipedia (Homepage is BLACKED OUT, Jan. 18 in protest)
Craigslist

I write a blog using the FREE applications that WordPress provides
I use images, videos, and other media (giving credit where possible) to provide detail for the content of my blog
I use social networking websites to share thoughts, news, media, and information with friends
I utilize search engines, websites, blogs, etc. to find information, media, etc.

These acts affect me

These acts affect you

Please take some time to learn about it, and I hope you will contact your local legislator, and then ask a friend to do the same.

Something to add? Leave a Comment!

