Sunday Night Dance Party: “Spiceworld” – Spice Girls

For those who have been following me on twitter, you may have noticed that I usually tweet a “Sunday Night Dance Party” on Sunday evenings (yes, I still consider the wee hours of the A.M. the same night). Sunday night is that last leisurely night of the weekend, the time we often stop and reflect, finish tasks, and get ready for the new week. So why not have a bit of fun? The point is: the weekend is over, the week is about to start, get up and dance off any negative energies and dance on the positives. Clear your head with good tunes and good vibes for a fresh start.

This week’s selection is the pivotal sophomore album from the Spice Girls, Spiceworld. In 1997, the lady-singing, pop sensations known as the Spice Girls where on top of the world. Spicemania, was in full effect and fans of all ages, genders, and nationalities were indulging. I was nine years old at the time and all about “Girl Power”. My friends and I felt this bond and sense of confidence from watching the varying lady personalities in the group. There was a ‘spice’ for every girl to relate to, and even though the lyrics dealt with way more mature topics than a fourth grader should care about, we just liked the songs because they were fun, dance-able, and allowed us to sing harmonies. PLUS it was a competition to see who would be which Spice for Halloween and who could pull it off best.

The Spiceworld album obviously coincided with the Spice World movie, which I’m pretty sure I saw in theaters and still own a VHS copy of somewhere in my mother’s home. I even had the Spice World Playstation game (it’s boss, totally worth playing if you get the chance.) Thankfully, the album was much better than the film. Featuring singles like “Spice Up Your Life”, “Stop”, “Move Over” (the one from the Pepsi commercials), and “Too Much”, the album was dripping with pop anthems that people still know the words to sixteen years later. And after all that time, I still have to say that it is a great pop album: catchy dance songs, a few choice ballads, and the crafty and cute “The Lady Is a Vamp” anthem at its close.

Spiceworld is one of my go-to dance and nostalgia albums. It reminds me of how fun it was to be absorbed in a pop culture moment as a young child and how much pride I took in being a girl, simply because the phrase “Girl Power” was branded into a music group. At the same time, it also reminds me how easily impressionable I was at that age, which is quite frightening.

Something to add? Leave a Comment!

