New Music: Lily & Madeleine – “The Weight of the Globe”


Indianapolis sister duo Lily & Madeleine released debut EP The Weight of the Globe today. Continue reading “New Music: Lily & Madeleine – “The Weight of the Globe””


Album Review: Good Luck “Without Hesitation”

Good Luck: Mike Harpring, Ginger Alford, Matt Tobey. Photo by Ben Rains

Local band Good Luck had my heart in 2008 with the band’s debut release Into Lake Griffy, the album was fun, exciting, intense, and everything a first album should be, an introduction to a band with an incredible future ahead of it. The band took its precious time between then and now, touring, slowly writing and performing new tracks, and living life. Finally, the pop-punk trio (Ginger Alford-bass/vocals, Mike Harpring-drums, Matt Tobey-vocals/guitar) has put it all together to give fans what they’ve asked for with its new album Without Hesitation, released November 22 via No Idea Records. Continue reading “Album Review: Good Luck “Without Hesitation””

Mind Equals Blown Interview with Matt Tobey

For those who have ever listened to Bloomington bands Good Luck and Memory Map, you should be now be familiar with the bands’ shared musician Matt Tobey.  Those particularly familiar with Matt would know his solo work as Matty Pop Chart and various past bands including Abe Froman and singing and touring with Kimya Dawson.

Whether you live in Bloomington, grew up in Michigan, or have caught a chance to see Matt on tour, I hope you’ve taken a few moments to meet and get to know the extraordinary person that he is.  Beyond being a talented and fun musician, Matt is one of the kindest people I have ever met, which makes it that much easier to relate to the stories that come out of his head and into his music.

Recently, music blog Mind Equals Blown did an interview with Matt (over Skype–yay technology!), which includes some great stories about his musical past and present.  It’s really well-written and a fun read, so please check it out here.

Memory Map signs with Joyful Noise Recordings

Memory Map
Memory Map (clockwise from top-left): Matt Tobey, Mike Bridavsky, Mike Dixon, Josh Morrow (Photo by: Rachel Ankney)



Great news for one of Bloomington’s favorite new bands of 2010, Memory Map.  The band of talented rockers has recently signed with Indianapolis-based label, Joyful Noise Recordings.  The label is also home to local bands Push-Pull, Racebannon, and the Delicious, so expect more great news to come from for Memory Map.  As first order of duty, the label will be re-releasing the band’s debut album Holiday Band on 180gm Red or Black LP, CD, and digitally on May 10.  The album will be available for pre-order as early as April 5.  You can still listen to the album on the Memory Map bandcamp site, and if you still haven’t heard it by now, I highly recommend you give it a solid listen, the album is heavy on guitar (there are three in the band), but with equally explosive drums and vocals, and a strong creative energy overall.

Keep your eyes open for new news from Memory Map, and if you live in the Indianapolis area, check the band out live at Locals Only on March 17.

Read the official announcement from Joyful Noise Recordings here:

New Good Luck Tune Captured!

Hey guys,

I hope you’ve been enjoying life. I’ve been on Spring Break this week and it’s been AWESOME. I love finally having time to relax, read, and just do a lot of nothing. But come next week, it’s back to college, back to deadlines, and back to studying…err..cramming? Continue reading “New Good Luck Tune Captured!”

Powered by

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: